job hunt

Standard

This time of year is kind of crazy for job hunting. Since I was supposed to be back in Kenya by now I didn’t plan on my looking for jobs in the middle of the school year (since I’m looking at Child Development Centers or daycare) so it has been kind of crazy and discouraging at the same time.

I’ve put applications and resumes out like crazy. Most places right now are only looking for people doing Sub work, and since I’ve never watched children in a classroom setting, lots of people have already turned me down for not having experience, but let’s be for real for a minute… how am I going to get that experience if you won’t even look at me? Let us all think that through for a minute…. ok – done!

I have been blessed however to meet two incredible ladies already who want to give me a shot doing some sub work. If you are looking for a place for your kids I would recommend talking to Sharon at Grace Point and Kristie at Aldersgate. These ladies are THEBOMB.COM. Seriously, I loved talking to them in small interviews. I’ve never felt more comfortable with an interviewer, I was laughing my head off with both women. I think that is awesome in someone who could potentially be your boss, or the director of a place that watches your children daily.

I shadowed my friend Mallory around yesterday at GP and loved it. The kids learn by playing with a purpose, which means they do more playing than curriculum teaching but each thing they play has a purpose or school that it helps them to develop. As a person who LOVES hands on myself I was in heaven. Who else DOES NOT want a job where they play with kids all day and can make money doing it? If you tell me then you need to get your brain checked out – weirdo. And today I went to A and met Kristie. You better believe I’m at my desk right now (except these few minutes to type this blog) filling out paperwork like crazy. Hopefully I will be able to tour the facility and start sub work there next week.

[Also, E goes to Aldersgate during the week so if something worked out there I would be able to see my precious little Asian baby often!!]

I’ve also got an interview planned next week to talk with Rosemary from Evangel. The good thing is that since I can only do subwork until summertime, it will help me to decide which teaching style I like most. Which center has the best environment, see who I connect with most and HOPEFULLY in the summertime one of these places will open to a full-time job.

The Lord has been good to me. He continues to grow my patience and belief in Him. I’m struggling with not having a plan in life still but I’m so thankful He has opened these doors up for this part-time work, both of which are in a church setting. If possible I will never work in a non-christian environment again, and I’m thankful for these opportunities.

About Bella

I am bella. a wife, a friend, a daughter and a sister. I am a lover of all things: B1, children, africa, music, hard work, reading, playing solitare, exercise and life in general. Stars take my breath away. I am trying to figure out who I am and what the Lord wants me to be in life - and these blogs are the written versions of that journey.

Leave a comment